What is a Tax Year?

A Tax Year is... a full year. The Tax Year normally refers to the period running from 6 April to 5 April, so the current Tax year is 6 April 2020 to 5 April 2021.

When you are preparing Tax Returns you are normally completing them for the Previous year, so you will typically prepare your tax returns for 2020/2021 in March 2021.

Current Tax Year: 6 April 2020 to 5 April 2021